top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLalit Kishore

Earth Hour Day 2022: The Theme is "Shape Our Future"


Earth Hour began in Sydney in 2007 as a symbolic lights-out event for one hour organised by WWF which has now become popular across the globe.


Earth Hour is held every year on the Saturday in March (March 26, 2022) to create awareness about energy conservation and protecting environment. The event is coordinated by WWF and associates as a massive environmental event at grassroots levels to raise awareness about climate change.


On this occasion, I reproduce my article "Park-ish titbit: the Earth hour celebration" published in merinews portal on 25 March, 2017. The article, as a conversation in a park, goes as follows.


This morning Swaliram, Thekhu, Pheku and Updeshu met in the morning at the recently developed park in Jaipur called 'Tare Zamin Par Park' since it has only soft foot-lights to light up the paths to be used by walkers and strollers. They got talking about how they would be celebrating the event of the Earth Hour from 8.30 to 9.30 pm.


Their conversation went as follows.


Swaliram: Today, we have the 'The Earth Hour' to highlight the issue of climate change; conservation of electrical energy; and 'turn up the dark' for one hour. How you are going to celebrate it?


Thekhu: I will take my family members out including my grandchildren for a stroll in the lanes and by- lanes of the colony to walk around with mobile torch lights on. We will shout asking others to switch off their house lights and join us. We will also shout some slogans regarding conservation of electricity.


Pheku: This forenoon, I will be going to the local mall since they are selling T-shirts with some logos, slogans and quotes on the Earth to dress up myself for the occasion. Then at night, I will take my family out for a candle light dinner in a posh hotel which has been advertised in the local papers. I have set aside Rs. 10,000 for it. The event should provide us another occasion to live life king-size and enjoy.


Updeshu: I will create a 'floor-mandana' with sketch of globe at centre at the threshold of my house in the morning. In the evening, I will switch off the lights of the house and light up an earthen lamp at the centre of the mandana. I will sing a few devotional songs on 'dharati mata' – the mother Earth to attract others towards joining me.


Swaliram: I will go around discovering the variety of ways in which people are 'celebrating' the day to just watch and wonder.






16 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page